Final Blog

Before taking this class, I thought I had a relatively good idea of educational technology, but I was wrong. There is a lot more to technology and education than I thought there was. I thought educational technology was basically computers, tablets and smartboards. I’ve learned about all the different facets of educational technology such as assistive technology, screencasting, and different programs for smartboards and iPads. I definitely had no idea to use most of the programs that we used in class this semester, so I’ve definitely learned about that. I did sometimes feel like I was behind because I don’t have a background in education or plans to go into education in the future.

I would say my favorite project was probably the smartboard lesson. I knew was a smartboard was in a general sense, but I had no idea how to use it or the different ways you could. Even though I am not planning to be a teacher, if I were I would like to teach at the elementary level. I think the smartboard is such a fun and interactive aspect for the classroom. I think it’s a great way to keep kids engaged and interested and I like how you as a teacher can be creative using it, so I enjoyed looking at all the different facets of it.

The first night of class I really had no idea what was going on or how to use any of the technology we had listed. I definitely feel more comfortable with it now and if I ever have to use it in the future, I am sure I will be more confident.


Leave a comment